Roberta Metsola elected new President of the EU Parliament

The MEPs in Strasbourg elected the 43-year-old as their leader in the first ballot on Tuesday. Metsola is the third woman to hold the prestigious post, succeeding Italian David Sassoli, who died last week. At 43, she is the youngest ever President of the European Parliament.

Then the 14 Vice-Presidents of the European Parliament are elected. The Austrian MPs Othmar Karas (ÖVP) and Evelyn Regner (SPÖ) are running for this office. Karas is already one of the vice-presidents of the EU parliament. The Italian social democrat Sassoli died last week at the age of 65 due to a malfunction in the immune system.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.