Monte Real will decide the champion of the Cruise League

Bayona (Pontevedra)



The Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayonne has hosted this midday the presentation of the second phase of the Cruise League that will begin this Saturday, December 5.

The event was attended by José Luís Álvarez, president of the Monte Real Club de Yates, Alejandro Retolaza, vice president of the MRCY, José Ramón Lete Lasa, general secretary for sport of the Xunta de Galicia, Gorka Gómez, sports deputy from the Diputación de Pontevedra, Óscar Martínez, deputy mayor of Baiona, and Marta Fernández-Tapias, territorial delegate of the Xunta de Galicia in Vigo.

The president of the host club was in charge of opening the presentation, the latest test of the Monte Real Club de Yates sports calendar, emphasizing the rigor with which the entity applies the required security protocols and affirming that it “It will undoubtedly be a great competition that we encourage you to enjoy from land, since the regattas can be seen from many points around the bay.”

11 teams meet in the waters of Bayona –Pontevedra– to fight for the final victory in La Liga de Vela. If the first of the two events that make up this league –the one held in the waters of the Valencian Community (Real Club Náutico Calpe) – made it clear that the competition was going to be tighter than in the previous edition, Galicia –Monte Real Club de Yates de Bayona – will write the name of the winning team.

Unlike in the first edition of this League (2019), the town of Pontevedra will be in charge of organizing the grand final – in 2019 it hosted the opening ceremony.

The teams will have a handicap in this final and the boats selected to compete in the final will not be the same as in the first appointment. On this occasion, the Tom28s will be replaced by the Figaro that the Galician club has, so the experts in the first boats will have to strive to get the most out of these monotypes.

The Real Club Náutico de Valencia team, with Axel Rodger as leader, has already made its potential clear in Mediterranean waters, finishing with a margin of more than six points over the winner of the first edition, the RCN de Arrecife skippered by Gonzalo Morales.

Everything is in a fist between the second and fifth classified and it is that between the RCN de Arrecife, the RCN Gran Canaria -with Onan Barreiros as skipper-, the RCN Torrevieja, with Jose Manuel Ballester as skipper, and the Altea Nautical Club there is hardly any nine points.

If the weather conditions allow it, the Regatta Committee of the Royal Spanish Sailing Federation will try to finish all the scheduled rounds –in two groups of 6 boats– after the first 15 tests completed in Fleet Round-Robin format.

See them

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *